The Maias

    The Maias_0
    The Maias
    • Resumo
    • Detalhes do artigo
    • Garanties
    • Acessórios incluídos
    • Editor Dedalus Ltd
    • «Eça de Queiroz spent eight years writing "The Maias". This is a novel in the tradition of Flaubert or Dickens, in which de Queiroz anatomises a society through a brilliant drama of a family's decline and downfall. Margaret Jull Costa's translation is supple, transparent and wonderfully paced. There seems to be no barrier at all between the reader and what the author intended. The novel shades from realism to romanticism, from satire to tragedy. The vigour and charm of the characters come across beautifully in this... Ver mais

    • Todas as ofertas
    • Satisfeito
      ou reembolsado
    • Levantamento
      gratuito em loja
    • Pagamentos
      Seguros
    • Devoluções
      gratuitas em loja

    Resumo

    «Eça de Queiroz spent eight years writing "The Maias". This is a novel in the tradition of Flaubert or Dickens, in which de Queiroz anatomises a society through a brilliant drama of a family's decline and downfall. Margaret Jull Costa's translation is supple, transparent and wonderfully paced. There seems to be no barrier at all between the reader and what the author intended. The novel shades from realism to romanticism, from satire to tragedy. The vigour and charm of the characters come across beautifully in this translation, and so does de Queiroz's biting, sometimes despairing view of Lisbon society in the last quarter of the nineteenth century.»
    Helen Dunmore, novelist and chair of the Oxford Weidenfeld Translation Prize.

    Opiniões dos nossos clientes : 1 artigos The Maias

    5/5
    • 0
      1
    • 0
      2
    • 0
      3
    • 0
      4
    • 1
      5
    A mais útil Opiniões Verificadas
    Edgar Costa

    Publicada a 22 ago 2018 

    Livro Raro

    Óptimo encontrar este livro, o qual andava à procura para os meus lunos da escola internacional.

    Saber tudo sobre

    Eça de Queirós

    Eça de Queirós

    Autor
    Descobre o melhor de Eça de Queirós, todas as suas novidades, artigos relacionados em todos os formatos (albuns, Livros, DVD, etc...).

    Outras obras de Eça de Queirós

    Características detalhadas

    Editor

    Dedalus Ltd

    EAN

    978-1910213445

    ISBN

    9781910213445

    Dimensões

    13 x 20 cm

    Nº Páginas

    714

    Encadernação

    Paperback