Poisoned Profits

The Toxic Assault on Our Children Lançado em agosto de 2008 (ePub) em Inglês
    Poisoned Profits_0
    Poisoned Profits
    • Resumo
    • Detalhes do artigo
    • Garanties
    • Acessórios incluídos
    • Data de lançamento agosto 2008
      Editor Random House
      Formato ePub

      Ver todas as características

    • In this shocking and sobering book, two fearless journalists directly and definitively link industrial toxins to the current rise in childhood disease and death. In the tradition of Silent Spring, Poisoned Profits is a landmark investigation, an eye-opening account of a country that prizes money over children’s health.With indisputable data, Philip Shabecoff and Alice Shabecoff reveal that the children of baby boomers–the first to be raised in a truly “toxified” world–have higher rates of birth defects, asthma, cancer,... Ver mais

    • 3,01 €

      Download imediato

      Descarrega já o teu ebook aqui ou através da aplicação Kobo by Fnac

      Kobo

      Kobo by Fnac

      Milhares de livros disponíveis para download

      Descobrir
    • Satisfeito
      ou reembolsado
    • Levantamento
      gratuito em loja
    • Pagamentos
      Seguros
    • Devoluções
      gratuitas em loja

    Adere ao formato digital: Poisoned Profits

    KOBO by Fnac

    Experimenta o Kobo by Fnac

    O mesmo conforto de leitura que um livro em papel e com uma autonomia de leitura até 30 dias. Com o seu ecrã tátil e tamanho de letra adaptável, é intuitivo e fácil de usar e permite-te levar contigo para qualquer lado até 1.000 livros.

    Descobrir

    Resumo Poisoned Profits

    In this shocking and sobering book, two fearless journalists directly and definitively link industrial toxins to the current rise in childhood disease and death. In the tradition of Silent Spring, Poisoned Profits is a landmark investigation, an eye-opening account of a country that prizes money over children’s health.

    With indisputable data, Philip Shabecoff and Alice Shabecoff reveal that the children of baby boomers–the first to be raised in a truly “toxified” world–have higher rates of birth defects, asthma, cancer, autism, and other serious illnesses than previous generations. In piercing case histories, the authors identify the culprit as corporate pollution. Here are the stories of such places as Dickson, Tennessee, where babies were born with cleft lips and palates after landfill chemicals seeped into the water, and Port Neches, Texas, where so many graduates of a high school near synthetic rubber and chemical plants contracted cancer that the school was nicknamed “Leukemia High.”

    The danger to our children isn’t just in the outside world, though. The Shabecoffs provide evidence that our homes are now infested with everything from dangerous flame retardants in crib mattresses to harmful plastic softeners in teething rings to antibiotics and arsenic in chicken–additives that are absorbed by growing and physically vulnerable kids as well as by pregnant women. Compounding the problem are chemical corporations that sabotage investigations and regulations, a government that refuses to police these companies, and corporate-hired scientists who keep pertinent secrets massaged with skewed data of their own.

    Poisoned Profits also demonstrates how people are fighting back, whether through grassroots parents’ groups putting pressure on politicians, the rise of “ecotheology” in the pulpits of formerly indifferent churches, or the new “green chemistry” being practiced in labs to replace bad elements with good. The Shabecoffs also include helpful tips on reducing risks to children in how they eat and play, and in how parents clean and maintain their homes.

    Powerful, unflinching, and eminently readable, Poisoned Profits is a wake-up call that is bound to inspire talk and force change.

    Características detalhadasPoisoned Profits

    • Editor Random House
    • Data de lançamento agosto 2008
    • EAN 978-1588367129
    • ISBN 9781588367129

    CARACTERÍSTICAS DO EBOOK

    • Formato ePub
    • Editor Random House
    • Data de lançamento agosto 2008
    • EAN 9781588367129
    QUE FORMATO PARA O MEU EBOOK?